choreographic contest
WarsawZAWIROWANIAdance 2016

Contact / Organizers

Zawirowania Dance Centre 
Wspólna 61/101   00-687 Warsaw, Poland

 phone: +48 790 555 979 

Director of competition

Włodzimierz Kaczkowski

 Włodzimierz Kaczkowski - The director of the Zawirowania Dance Theatre and the Zawirowania Dance Theatres Festival in Warsaw.  

Graduated from the Faculty of Theatre Knowledge in 1979 and from the Film and Theatre Direction Faculty where received a Master degree in 1983. For seven years was connected with theatres in Warsaw and Cracow as a theatre director.

In 1987 directed a ballet “Insatiability” by Polish dramatist Witkacy for Polish National Opera and in 1988 “Only once in life” – the story of Isadora Duncan. Since the establishment of the Zawirowania Dance Theatre wrote most of its screenplays: “Hug me”, “Kill, if you love”, “Into the light… Blindfolded”, “Nothing but the Blue”, “Innocent when you dream” and recently “Closeness”.



As the president of Fundacja Scena Współczesna (Contemporary Scene Foundation) established in 2001, he supports the interest in contemporary dance in Poland and Europe, tries to facilitate international contacts and initiates the spectacles exchange. He conduct workshops, organize conferences and seminars.

The Zawirowania Dance Theatre was established in 2004 under the Foundation’s auspices and in couple of years it became one of the most recognizable groups of dance theatre in Poland. In the role of manager and producer he directs premieres, organizes performances and international projects.

In this year both the Theater and Festival Zawirowania will be celebrated 10th anniversary.



Ofra Idel / jury member

Ofra Idel received her Master degree in Dance and Dance Education from the Rubin Dance and Music Academy in Jerusalem. She has danced at the Kolben D.C and the Tami D.C/Nimrod Freed and has performed in the USA, India, China, Senegal, Japan, Chile and around Europe.
In 2005, Idel was invited by the Alexandria Performing Arts Association to create for the BosmaDance Company, Washington D.C. Since then her work has been showcased in Israel and abroad including at the Intima Dance Festival, Curtain-Up Festival, The Zawirowania Dance Festival in Warsaw, Side by side- Dusseldorf, and at the Visa 2 dance Festival- Tanzania, Artdanthé Festival Tilburg, Holand, Spain, Lithuania, The USA and Cyprus.
Idel is an Artistic Co-Director of the Machol Shalem Dance house in Jerusalem.


Lee Jong-Ho / jury member

Born 1953. Studied French Literature at Seoul National University and graduated from the university’s graduate school. He worked as a correspondent for the French magazine Le pays du Matin Clalme (1977), as a journalist for the French weekly of the Korea Herald newspaper (1977-1978, 1979-1980), after which he transferred to the Yonhap News Agency in 1981 foreign, where he served in the foreign correspondence dept., Society Dept., foreign correspondent to Brussels, Culture Dept. chief, and senior culture editor before resigning from the company in March 2009. He is recipient of the Ministry of Culture & Tourism Award (2007), the Korean Modern Dance Development Association’s International Exchange Development Award (2007) and the medallion of Chevalier dans l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres (2007). He served as Executive Council Member of the Association of Asian Performing Arts Festival (2004-2008), as President of the Korean Society of Dance Critics (2001-2004), as a member of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s Performing Arts Advisory Committee (2004-2008), as a member of the planning committee for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s ASEAN Special Summit (2008-2009). Presently he serves as President of the CID-UNESCO Korea Chapter and administrative chairman and artistic director of the SIDance festival.


Włodzimierz Kaczkowski / jury member

Director, translator, scriptwriter, theatre producer, president of Fundacja Scena Współczesna (The Contemporary Scene Foundation). Graduated from the Faculty of Theatre Knowledge in 1979 and from the Film and Theatre Direction Faculty where received a Master degree in 1983. Directed over 30 plays in the theaters in Poland and Germany. Since the establishment of the Zawirowania Dance Theatre wrote most of its screenplays: Hug me, Kill, if you love, Into the light… Blindfolded, Nothing but the Blue, Innocent when you dream and recently Closeness. He is the main organizer of Zawirowania Dance Theatre Festival in Warsaw.


Vadim Kasparov Kasparov / jury member

Co-founder of St. Petersburg’s Kannon Dance School (1997). Head of Department for contemporary choreography and dance therapy at Lesgaft University (2002-2006). Founder and manager of projects: Open Look Dance Festival, Russian Look platform for contemporary dance and theater, Plastika Slova (“Plastique of Word”) Festival, DANCE 4 KIDS Festival, Cinemadance Festival, Tochka Otscheta (“Point of Reference”) Festival, Jazz Music and Dance Festival, France Danse Festival etc. At Kannon Dance organized workshops of more than 600 international teachers, presented 200 Russian and international productions. Creative producer of DANCE4KIDS laboratory. Producer of 4 projects nominated for The Golden Mask.


Natalia Medina Medina / jury member

Natalia Medina holds a degree in Physical Education by the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and a Master’s degree in Scenic Arts by King Juan Carlos University of Madrid.
She is involved in many areas of artistic activity involving dance, including performances, formation, creation, direction and management, specializing in the contemporary expression of this discipline.
In 1999 she created her own Natalia Medina Dance Company. With the company she has presented works as Ahoras, Papas & Noes, Untitled, La Técnica Perfecta del Giro, TAG, Allegro Andante Assestamento Perpetuo, The Fifth Woman. More recently, the Company is touring with the productions: White Discharge, Feeling Well When You Are Around Me, Incorpórea, Elipsis and Exquisite Form.
In 1996 she founded MASDANZA, The International Contemporary Dance Festival Of The Canary Islands and in 2016, she will celebrate her twentieth-first year as Director.